Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
You can file a claim in conciliation court for an amount up to the limit set by law.
Conciliation Court will not accept a claim that exceeds the limit set by law. You can reduce the amount of your claim so it can be heard in Conciliation Court. If you do reduce your claim to the limit of Conciliation Court, you will not be allowed to ask for more money later. You may not file any other claims related to the same incident.
Note: This rule may apply to any other claims related to the same incident.Obtaining a judgment in Conciliation Court may prevent you from bringing any other claims based on the same transaction or occurrence.
In deciding whether to file your claim, be aware that obtaining a judgment in conciliation court does not guarantee payment. You should consider whether the person the claim is against (the defendant) will be able to pay you. Although you may win your case, Conciliation Court is not a collection agency. As you attempt to collect the judgment, you will have out of pocket expenses for filing fees, transcription costs and other costs of collecting a judgment. Separate information about the collection process is available.
For additional information, visit the Minnesota’s state court website.
Conciliation Court was created to allow citizens to bring their legal claims before the court without expensive costs, attorney's fees, or complicated legal procedures. For more information, please visit the State Court Website.
Conciliation Court can settle claims that are below the limit set by law. For additional information, visit Minnesota's State Court Website.
A Guardian Ad Litem provides advocacy for children by gathering information to make recommendations in court regarding their best interest. Please visit the State Court Website for more information.
You must file for a change of name in the county where you live and you must have lived in the State of Minnesota for at least 6 months. More information is available on the State Court Website.
A Harassment Restraining Order is a court order forbidding someone from harassing and / or making contact with another or any minor children in the home. Visit the State Court Website for more information.
An application form must be obtained from Court Administration, which must be truthfully completed and verified. If the court determines you do not make enough money to hire counsel, an attorney most often called a "Public Defender" will be appointed. Please visit the State Court Website for more information.
You can pay your fine by mail, over the telephone, online, or in person. Visit the State Court Website for more information.
The maximum fine for a Petty Misdemeanor is $300. A Petty Misdemeanor is not a crime and therefore carries no jail time. You may be represented by an attorney hired at your own expense. If you wish to plead not guilty, you are entitled to a court trial. A court trial is a trial by a judge without a jury. Please visit the State Court Website for more information.
The maximum penalty is $1,000 and / or 90 days in jail. A Misdemeanor is a crime and consequently a more serious offense. If you cannot afford an attorney to represent you, you may apply for the services of a Public Defender. More information regarding Misdemeanors is available on the State Court Website. If you wish to plead not guilty, you are entitled to a jury trial. A jury trial would consist of 6 persons and all 6 persons would have to agree that you are guilty before you could be convicted and sentenced.
You must appear in court if:
If you are unsure whether or not you must appear in court, call them at 651-213-7010.
Online court forms may be found on Minnesota's State Court Website.
Visit the State Court Website for our Schedule of Fees.
The Chisago County District Judges are:
Payable tickets may be paid:
To determine your fine amount, contact Court Administration within 10 days prior to the court date written on the citation / ticket at 651-213-7010.
Contact Chisago County Court Administration to make arrangements to set up a payment schedule by phone 651-213-7010, or by email.
To schedule a wedding, contact one of the Chisago County District Court judges by calling Court Administration at 651-213-7010.